top of page

Protection Tips for Working in the Garden

Sometimes I feel like the person in this image when working in the garden. When you are the busiest, that is when the insects attack the most. I cover myself from head to toe when working in the garden to protect from insect bites, stings and other general attacks. I also spray and rub on insect repellent for spots I can not cover like my face. Yes, even my face and neck. Let’s look at a couple of ways you can protect yourself while working in the garden.

Lets start at the toes. I do the following to protect myself from, primarily insects, while working in the garden. I wear water repellent and dirt loving shoes. I then put on a full pair of socks. I also wear a breathable shirt and pants that cover down past the ankles and the writs. I put on gardening gloves appropriate for the tasks for the day. Depending on the intensity of the sun you might also wear a hat. One can also wear a hat if it is raining. I then finish off with a insect repellent for those areas I can not cover. Gloves are always a good idea just encase you find something you did not expect in the dirt, which is very easy to do. If you want something form fitting, try rubber or latex gloves. If you do all of this, you highly increase your chances of escaping without a bite. With COVID 19 still prevalent avoiding bites especially by insects is a good idea.

What other things might you wear when working in the garden? Some people also wear sunshades. What are some other ways to protect yourself when working in the garden? What do you know about insects that can help you with your work in the garden? We know that the birds, bees and lady bugs are the good guys even if bees can sting! Share your comments with the community by posting them below. Share the wealth of health with your friends and family by sharing this article with 3 people today. As always you are the best part of what we do. Keep sharing!

If these articles have been helpful to you and yours, give a donation to Shidonna Raven Garden and Cook Ezine today.

0 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page