top of page

Hold My Broom: Meet "Puerto Wiccan"

Updated: Nov 5, 2021

By Molly Snyder Senior Writer

Published Oct 15, 2021 at 1:01 PM On February 3, 2019

Source: On Milwaukee

Photo Source: Unsplash, Halanna Halila

The Milwaukee-based rapper, writer, model and witch shares her thoughts and dreams.

is an OnMilwaukee exclusive series exploring the magickal, mystical and cackle-worthy.

Maikayla Infinity Gutierrez – aka Puerto Wiccan – was born and raised in Milwaukee. Her grandmother practiced Santeria, so at a young age she was introduced to spiritual practices and began to study her own form of them.

Although it's often a misunderstood term, Gutierrez identifies as a witch.

“To me, being a witch means to be in tune with your power and emotion,” she says. “To harvest trust in your power and the way it works with the universe is to be a truly powerful witch.”

Gutierrez is aware that claiming to be a witch has become trendy, but she knows, like all trends, it will eventually fade away.

“I hope that those who only claim to be ‘witches’ find a more genuine path for themselves rather than try to be something they’re not because it sounds cool,” she says.

Gutierrez also started rapping when she was 10 years old. “I’ve always been a poet, so rapping came naturally with me. It’s a beautiful way to combine thoughts and sound,” she says.

The Milwaukee rap scene, she says, is good, but she wishes there was a platform for non-traditional rappers who defy the norm. But mostly, she appreciates the opportunity to connect with other women through her music.

“I want to inspire women to be themselves, and I want to show all sides of myself through my productions,” she says.

Gutierrez, under the name Puerto Wiccan, will release an EP – as well as a book of poetry – at some point by the end of the year.

“I want to give myself as much time as I need to perfect it,” she says. Her music is available on all music platforms and her first three music videos are on YouTube.

“I have videos to the songs “New Me,” “Goat Smoke” and “Big Drip” with more coming soon,” say Gutierrez. “’It’s a beautiful thing to have such open-minded supporters on this journey with me.”

Her appropriate and clever name originated during a conversation with a friend.

"I was searching the cemetery grounds for herbs for my practices and a friend joked, 'so you aren’t just Puerto Rican, you’re Puerto Wiccan,'” says Gutierrez. “The joke inspired me to use it as a persona. Because hell yeah, I’m not just Puerto Rican. I’m Puerto Wiccan.”


Did you know that Wiccans are on the rise in the United States and the United Kingdom? Are your medical professionals Wiccan? How could this impact your health?


Share the wealth of health with your family and friends by sharing this article with 3 of your friends and family today.


If this article was helpful to you, please donate to the E Zine today. Thank you in advance.















bottom of page