top of page

Back to our Roots

Updated: Feb 8, 2023

By Shidonna Raven, Chef Editor

Source: Shidonna Raven Garden & Cook, Soaring by Design. All Rights Reserved. Copyright. Please contact us for republishing permission and citation formatting.

Image / Photo Source: Unsplash, Markus Spiske


I get asked a lot how I started the Organic Garden. Simply, I had a desire for fresher foods that were more nutritious and not produced by industrial farms. Industrial farms produce a high quantity rather than high quality foods. If you have been following our journey than you know I have suffered from a mineral and vitamin deficiency. As I begin to talk with doctors and chefs alike, I discovered that the very things that were lacking in my body had to be lacking in my food. I thought to myself and after much research concluded these things should be in my food. Why should I have to take them as a supplement to my diet. Something is terrible wrong with my diet. As I examined my diet, I found that my diet was fairly good but there must be something lacking in my food source. So the journey was also inspired by a desire to be a healthier person as well.


Before we get to far along in our story, I want to let you know how humble our beginnings were. We begin with two seeds and a few supplies all of which we got at the local dollar store. We began with cilantro and sweet basil on our kitchen seal. We were so excited we immediately shared the news. Our benefactors who have been with us since the beginning came right over. They were just as excited as we were. From there as you can see above our two seeds grew into over thirty seeds within days. We simply did not have anywhere to put them all and provide light. So we went straight to a mini greenhouse in the garage and begin plotting our outdoor garden. Many came over to help. And before we knew it we had more help than we knew what to do with.


Because we started in February in doors, we were able to collect our supplies and materials over time. Our benefactors also help us. We will also be looking for supplies at the end of the gardening season hoping to catch a sale.



Did you know that you can start your own two herbs in your kitchen for under $10? Which are your two favorite herbs? What do you think are the benefits of growing fresh? Write up a plan how you can get started today.Share your comments with the community by posting them below. Share the wealth of health with your friends and family by sharing this article with 3 people today. As always you are the best part of what we do. Keep sharing!



If these articles have been helpful to you and yours, give a donation to Shidonna Raven Garden and Cook Ezine today.


bottom of page