top of page

From the Far East

Updated: Feb 8, 2023

By Shidonna Raven, Chef Editor

Source: Shidonna Raven Garden & Cook, Soaring by Design. All Rights Reserved. Copyright. Please contact us for republishing permission and citation formatting.

Image / Photo Source: Unsplash, Rafa Prada


Beginning your own garden, and an organic one at that, is an adventure in it self. So is going to the international food market. I am pretty adventurous. But, if I am not in a restaurant my adventure gauge for food goes down. What is it? And how do you cook it? Well, today I got a few answers and that is all I need to add some intrigue and adventure to our organic garden. The seed packet is all in Korean, which I completely do not speak, read nor write. The guy at the international food market told me that it was something like a Korean lettuce they “…like it” and that it could be eaten fresh or cooked. So, I am guessing a little more like Spinach. He said they liked it. Initially, I was hoping for basil. At least something I know. But this was better. Something totally new. Not too adventurous. How adventurous is lettuce anyway. The picture of the plant gave me a good idea of spacing and depth. That it is similar to lettuce gave me an idea of how to care for the plant. Initially, I thought no…it’s in all Korean. I don’t stand a chance. But I went ahead and did it anyway. They are in the ground now and we are off to another gardening journey.



I have traveled the world; studied international relations; been to an array of ethnic restaurants in and out of the states; try to speak a second language and have meet a host of people from across the globe. So, I thought it only fitting that we add some international varieties to our garden.



It is important to note that when you are trying a plant you know very little about to test and taste the harvest at different stages of maturity to determine when it is ripe or has the ideal flavor. What international foods do you like that you want to grow in your own garden? What are their nutritional benefits? How can you learn more about a seed when the packet is in a foreign language? How can you learn how to cook your international favorites? Have questions? Want to share? Do you have a international recipe? Share with us by leaving a comment. And send us lots of pictures! We are visuals. Share your comments with the community by posting them below. Share the wealth of health with your friends and family by sharing this article with 3 people today. As always you are the best part of what we do. Keep sharing!



If these articles have been helpful to you and yours, give a donation to Shidonna Raven Garden and Cook Ezine today.


bottom of page