top of page

Usyk: Fury Underestimated Ngannou, He Will Be Different With Me

November 12, 2023

Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene


WBO, IBF, IBO, WBA heavyweight champion Oleksandr Usyk is expecting a better version of Tyson Fury when they collide in the ring.

Last month, Fury struggled in winning a close ten round split decision over MMA veteran Francis Ngannou, who was making his pro debut in professional boxing. Fury's WBC title was not at stake.

There is a finalized deal for Usyk and Fury to collide in 2024. They were initially set to fight on December 23 - but because Fury took more punishment than anticipated in the fight with Ngannou, the event has been pushed back to February. Usyk is expecting the best possible version of Fury.

"I think that Tyson Fury underestimated Francis Ngannou," Usyk said. "He will be different with me. I think he will make some conclusions after his last fight. But again, I absolutely don't care about how he'll behave. What I care for is how I will behave.

"Ngannou did a good job in the gym. Then showed a good level on the ring. Very few people believed in Ngannou. Even when I was asked about him I replied that he's not enough."

Usyk was the undisputed world champion at cruiserweight. He moved up to the heavyweight division in 2019. He would become the unified champion in 2021 after winning an upset twelve round unanimous decision over Anthony Joshua. Fury, who has an awkward boxing style, has a significant advantage in size and reach over Usyk. The Ukrainian veteran is not worried.

"He is big, complicated, strong. But, I am slightly smaller, and I have an incredible motivation, and I'm hungry for boxing. I'm not motivated by money," Usyk said.

"I don't care about material things. I care for the path I follow. I was [working for] this for 20 years. And I think that in February, we'll hear the bell."




Comments


bottom of page