top of page

Tyson Fury Unsure of Future: Who Knows How Long I've Got Left

BY BOXINGSCENE STAFF August 7, 2023 Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene



WBC heavyweight champion Tyson Fury is unsure of the time he has remaining in the sport of boxing.

The 34-year-old Fury is returning to the ring on October 28 in Saudi Arabia, where he will face former UFC world champion Francis Ngannou in a crossover boxing match. Fury's WBC title will not be at stake.

Fury had tried to make an undisputed fight with Oleksandr Usyk earlier this year, but the contest fell apart when both sides were unable to agree on the financial terms for the rematch. As far as the future of his career, Fury has no determination on when he intends to call it quits.

"Who knows how long I've got left. Maybe not long..... maybe a year, maybe two years, maybe one fight, who knows," Fury told Heart Breakfast.

"One thing I do know is I'm going to enjoy every minute that I have left, every fight that I have left I'm taking it all in and enjoying it. I want my kids there, my little boys walk me out and stuff and I'm very happy with where I am in my life and that I'm in a position where I can give them this excitement.

"I think every fighter knows when it's time to walk away. They always leave it too long anyway, but I'm sure I'll make the right decision. Like you say, I've got a lot to do in my life. I got a lot of kids and I need to be in the right mind. I don't need to be getting injured or whatever."

Fury last fought in December of 2022, when he battered and stopped an overmatched Derek Chisora in their trilogy fight. In April of that year, he made a mandatory defense of the WBC strap by stopping Dillian Whyte.



Comments


bottom of page