top of page

Prograis: I’m Stopping Haney; If I Don’t, I’mma Hurt Him for 12 Rounds

BY SEAN NAM August 7, 2023 Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene


Regis Prograis won’t deign to consider any other outcome but a painful beatdown for Devin Haney.

Prograis, the WBC 140-pound titlist from New Orleans, is in advanced talks to fight Haney, the undisputed lightweight champion, in a 12-round bout for Prograis’ junior welterweight title. The fight would be Haney’s first in the 140-pound ranks.

The 34-year-old Prograis, who signed with Matchroom Boxing promoter Eddie Hearn earlier this year, is looking to remove the stench lingering from the disappointing outing of his last fight—a split decision win over Danielito Zorrilla that featured one of the lowest punch outputs in a title fight in recent memory. Despite the tepid performance of his last fight, Prograis promised to inflict plenty of violence on Haney.

“I’m stopping Haney, I’m stopping Haney,” Prograis told ESNews. “I don’t give a f--- what nobody [says]. I’m stopping Haney, bro. I don’t care what nobody says. They can say all that sh!t if they want. I’m stopping him. We working on sh!t already right now. No matter what he got, I’m stopping Haney. If I don’t I’mma hurt him for 12 rounds, I guarantee I hurt Haney for 12 rounds.”

Prograis (29-1, 24 KOs) pointed out that his subpar showing against Zorrilla was, in effect, “a blessing in disguise,” given how he believes that is what enticed Haney, 24, to seriously consider fighting him.

“It’s a blessing in disguise, bro,” Prograis said. “My last fight with Zorrilla, it wasn’t a good fight, so they took it. Like I said, if I had knocked Zorrilla out in the first round [Haney wouldn’t fight me]—bro, Sandor Martin is my mandatory, so I would’ve been fighting him. I’m glad that that’s not happening. I’m fighting Haney. I’m just waiting.”

“I’mma beat your ass, li’l boy,” Prograis added. Haney (30-0, 15 KOs) successfully defended his four lightweight belts in May, with a unanimous decision over Vasiliy Lomachenko at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.



Comentarios


bottom of page