top of page

Mikaela Mayer Focused On Mandatory Crack at 135 Title, Feels Her Best Will Be at 140

BY MANOUK AKOPYAN May 09, 2023 Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene

Former unified super featherweight champion Mikaela Mayer has been clamoring for a rematch clash against Alycia Baumgardner ever since dropping a split decision to her archrival in October.

The fight took place at 130 pounds, and Baumgardner took home the WBC, WBO, IBF, and IBO titles with the win.

The 32-year-old Mayer (18-1, 5 KOs) has since moved on to 135 pounds, scoring a unanimous decision victory against late-replacement opponent Lucy Wildheart to land the interim WBC lightweight title on April 15 in London. When Mayer was asked if a rematch could happen later this year against Baumgardner, the 2016 United States Olympian was not optimistic.

“No, and it's not because of me. [Baumgardner] has to want the fight,” Mayer told BoxingScene.com in an interview. “She's the champion now. She has the belts. The ball is in her court. I can only do so much and say ‘give me the rematch.’ Everyone knows I want the rematch, so ask her. Until then, I have to move on and continue my career and try to make big fights.”

Mayer fought Wildheart only because Christina Linardatou was not cleared to fight by the British Boxing Board of Control during the weigh-in 24 hours before the fight.

“I didn't know anything [about Wildheart] but it gave me the freedom to completely be myself,” said Mayer. “There was something exciting with having no game plan and knowing nothing about my opponent. I'm happy I got the fight and was able to get the rounds in, but I am here for the big fights. I've always said that.”

As the WBC’s interim champion at 135 pounds, Mayer is the mandatory challenger for the eventual winner of the rematch between Katie Taylor and Amanda Serrano, which has yet to be rescheduled after Serrano suffered an injury in February, forcing a postponement for their originally planned May 20 date. "I'm focused on [facing the winner of Taylor-Serrano]. I'll guarantee [Baumgardner] will come knocking after that,” said Mayer. “I'm going to stay busy and fight in the meantime. I might have two fights before I get the mandatory shot. It'll happen. And honestly, I'm not staying at 135 pounds very long – a year or two to accomplish goals. I know I went up a division [in my last fight]. I still think my best is at 140 pounds.”



Comentarios


bottom of page