top of page

Mario Barrios: ‘It’s Gonna Take Everything’ To Beat Yordenis Ugas

August 30, 2023 Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxin Scene


Mario Barrios has fallen short each time he’s seriously stepped up the competition, but the 27-year-old is looking to flip the script for his next fight.

It won’t be easy, however, as the San Antonio native Barrios (27-2, 18 KOs) will face former Manny Pacquiao-conqueror Yordenis Ugas (27-5, 12 KOs) on Sept. 30 at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. The interim WBC welterweight title fight will be one of the three undercard attractions supporting the card headlined by Canelo Alvarez and Jermell Charlo on Showtime pay-per-view.

“Whenever a fight is brought to me, there’s never a name that I say no to. This was no different. Ugas is a tremendous fighter and this is a huge opportunity. I was more than happy to take the fight,” Barrios said during a Los Angeles press conference. “I’m trying to solidify my mark in this division. It’s gonna be a tough fight on September 30. I’ve never seen him shy away from a fight and I have a similar style. This is gonna be an explosive one that you don’t want to miss.

“We’re both gonna bring it on fight night. This is an exciting card and an exciting opportunity to fight for an interim world title.”

According to DraftKings, Barrios will enter the ring as a +280 betting underdog against the former welterweight champion Ugas due to an uneven ride over his last three fights.

Barrios got dropped three times and suffered an 11th knockout loss against Gervonta Davis at 140 pounds in June 2021. He moved up to welterweight in February 2022 in his return fight but lost a unanimous decision against Keith Thurman.

Barrios bounced back in his last bout this February with an eighth-round TKO win against Jovanie Santiago. “I was learning with each fight and took a lot away from my defeats. I’m still just as hungry as ever. I had my comeback fight in February in San Antonio and now I’m looking to bring another title back home,” said Barrios.

“It’s gonna take everything to get this win. I’m gonna have to use my boxing ability, my power, and my range. It’s gonna be an exciting fight and I’m looking forward to it.”

Barrios is aware that he can bring a bevy of bargaining power to the table of future negotiations should he score a win against Ugas.

Ugas is looking to bounce back himself following a broken orbital bone and stoppage loss to Errol Spence Jr. in February 2022. The 37-year-old Cuban has not fought since.

“I’m expecting the best version of Ugas. We both have a lot to prove. A victory puts us right up there with all of the top welterweights,” said Barrios. “There’s a lot of good fights to be made and we’re all working to get to the top of the division.”



Comentários


bottom of page