top of page

Keyshawn Davis and Abdullah Mason continue rapid progress with important wins

July 8, 2024

Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene


Two of Top Rank’s stars enjoyed a successful night at Newark’s Prudential Center, with Keyshawn Davis stepping up and coming through a suitably tough test against Miguel Madueno while Abdullah Mason was sensational in blitzing Luis Lebron.


Davis won 99-91 across the board versus Mexican veteran Madueno, who is now 31-3, and improved to 11-0 (7 KOs) with the lightweight contender admitting afterwards: “He was tougher than I expected. 


“This was the toughest most physical professional fight I’ve had, but I had fun in there. I liked the fight. I had fun in there. I’m glad he [Madueno] did that tonight. I’m definitely going to take a lot from it and go back to the drawing board.”


The Norfolk star was grateful for the rounds and the experience, and said of his next moves: “Y’all know I’ll be willing to fight anybody.  As far as those big names, the fans want to see it, especially at this point, put me in with the big names. The fans want to see it, let’s make it happen with anybody. I’m not mentioning no more names. I done called out the whole boxing world. I’m not going to keep calling these names. Just send them a contract and I’ll bet they’ll sign it.”


Mason, 14-0 (12 KOs) an exciting southpaw prospect and one of boxing’s shooting stars, stopped Puerto Rican Lebron, now 20-6-1 (13 KOs) having floored him twice in the second round of a bout that had been scheduled for eight. 


Mason continued to pick Lebron apart in the third before veteran’s trainer, William Cruz, called a halt to the proceedings. Timothy Bradley said Mason’s fast-handed combinations reminded him of Roy Jones.


When Mark Kriegel said to Mason boxing was supposed to be hard, Mason replied: “Out of

the ring it is, so we can make it easy inside. We can have some fun in there come fight night. 

“I guess we fed him [Lebron] a little bit of smoke and he didn’t have the appetite for it… 

“We’ve got the appetite for smoke. I hope I gained some new fans today. Newark, we in the house, appreciate y’all.”

























Comments


bottom of page