top of page

HOME Oleksandr Usyk returns to Ukraine amid invasion by Vladimir Putin’s Russia and posts ‘NO WAR’ m

By Michael Benson

February 25, 2022

Updated 25, 2022

Source: Talk Sports

Photo Source: Getty Images


Oleksandr Usyk has returned to Ukraine after Vladimir Putin launched an invasion of the country by Russia.

The Ukrainian unified heavyweight champion of the world had been in the UK earlier this week, but has now flown home at a time when many others are fleeing. Usyk spoke out on social mediaUpon arriving back in his homeland, Usyk posted a message on social media.

He spoke in Ukrainian, but the caption was in English. It simply read: “NO WAR.”

In the video itself, Usyk dismissed claims that he’d ‘ran away’ from the situation as he was in the UK when the invasion started on Thursday morning.

“Some wrote to me that I ran away. I didn’t, I was at work but I’m back, I’m home,” he said. “Friends, we have to unite because it’s a hard time right now and I’m really emotional and worry about my country, and our people.” Vitali Klitschko has vowed to fight for his countryOn Thursday, Ukraine’s former champions Wladimir Klitschko and Vitali Klitschko sent a united message.

Wladimir had already enlisted in the Ukrainian reserve army, while Mayor of Kiev Vitali has confirmed he will take up arms.

Together, the Klitschkos launched a joint video appeal, speaking in Ukrainian, Russian and English.

In the English version, Wladimir said: “I’m calling to all international partners to observe this tragedy that is happening nowadays in Ukraine.

“And this senseless war that is not going to have any winners, but losers. “I just want to tell you we must stay united against this aggression, against Russian aggression.

“Don’t let it continue happening in Ukraine, don’t let it happen in Europe and eventually in the world.

“United we are strong, support Ukraine, thank you.”




Comments


bottom of page