top of page

Haney: Most Important Fight For Me Is George Kambosos, To Become Undisputed Champion

Published Wed Dec 08, 2021, 09:24 AM EST

December 10, 2021

Source: Boxing Scene

Photo / Image: Boxing Scene

LAS VEGAS – At just 23 years of age, time is on Devin Haney’s side to achieve great things in the sport.

The downside to entering his physical prime, however, is the possibility of outgrowing his dream of becoming undisputed lightweight champion.

“135 is not easy for me to make,” Haney noted following his twelve-round, unanimous decision victory over Joseph ‘JoJo’ Diaz to defend his WBC lightweight title. “It takes a lot of sacrifice and discipline, which I’m willing to do for the big fights.” The biggest fight for Haney (27-0, 15KO) in regard to the legacy he aims to carve out is a head-on collision with Sydney’s George Kambosos Jr. (20-0, 10KOs). The recently crowned lineal/WBA/IBF/WBO lightweight champion was in the house Saturday evening at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, working the DAZN telecast while also scouting the evening’s main event.

A rivalry is slowly brewing between the two, though with mutual respect for one another. Kambosos has remained complimentary of Haney both throughout fight week and immediately following his win over Diaz (32-2-1, 15KOs) which marked the fourth defense of his WBC lightweight title. Haney weighed in right at the 135-pound limit—the fourth straight title fight where he has done so and with his 5’8” frame replenishing to above the welterweight limit by fight day.

As he continues to grow, the mission for Haney is to accomplish his goal of becoming undisputed champion before his body decides the next step would be to pursue multi-division title status.

“The most important fight for me – it may not be the biggest fight but the most important fight for me right now is George Kambosos, to become the undisputed champion,” Haney acknowledged. “It’s always been a dream of mine, to be undisputed. It’s a fight that I would love. If I can’t get the big fights that I love then I will go up to 140.

“My body is still growing. I’m only 23 years. If I can’t get the big fights here, I will move up." That's not to be mistaken, however, for the competition to remain idle until Haney outgrows the lightweight division.

"My main focus is undisputed," insisted Haney. "I don’t want anyone to think they can wait me out. No. I’m gonna press for these fights for as long as it takes. But if these guys won’t fight me then I’ll just move up.”



Comentários


bottom of page