top of page

David Benavidez Will Consider Move To 175 If No Big Fight Comes Around

By Boxing Scene Staff

April 20, 2022

Source: Boxing Scene / Ryan Hafey

Photo Source: Unsplash, Boxing News 24


On Saturday, May 21, former two-time world champion David Benavidez will face former world champion David Lemieux in a 12-round showdown for the vacant interim-WBC super middleweight title headlining live on Showtime from Gila River Arena in Glendale, Arizona.

As always, Benavidez will be looking for the knockout victory.

“Every fight I go into, I either want to get a knockout or a stoppage. I think I have five straight stoppages since I came back from my suspension. That’s the plan. I want to go in there and I don’t want to leave any doubt. The stoppage is always the main thing I go for," Benavidez. Lemieux himself is a very big puncher, also with an aggressive style - which is music to the ears of Benavidez.

“With the style that David Lemieux has, it’s basically tailormade for my style to go in there and stop him. But it’s not going to be easy. David Lemieux is really motivated too. He’s fighting for another title just like I am. He’s a big puncher. I’m going in there and I’m looking forward to it. It’s going to be a fun fight," Benavidez said.

After Lemieux, Benavidez will aim to secure a big name at the weight. If no big come around at 168, then Benavidez will consider a jump in weight to the light heavyweight division.

“I feel like besides Caleb Plant or Jermall Charlo, Demetrius Andrade is the only other fight that makes sense. These other fighters I want are Caleb Plant, Jermall Charlo and even Edgar Berlanga. And if not, I think it might be time to go up to 175 pounds," Benavidez said. "I’ve been trying to make all these fights happen for a long time. I feel like right now, when I win the WBC interim title, I’ll have a little bit more leverage. But if I can’t make them happen, it’s because the fighters don’t want to make the fight with me happen.”




Comments


bottom of page