top of page

Chris Colbert dropped in first round, takes decision against Jose Valenzuela

March 26, 2023

Source: Fight Mag

Photo Source: Boxing Scene


Chris Colbert (17-1, 6 KOs) took the victory against Jose Valenzuela (12-2, 8 KOs) when the pair squared off at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday, March 25. The lightweight bout was featured on the card topped by David Benavidez vs Caleb Plant live on Showtime PPV.


A native of Brooklyn, New York, who got dropped in the opening round by a big left hook, was awarded the victory by unanimous decision. After ten rounds all three judges scored the fight 95-94.


Los Mochis, Mexico-born Valenzuela, fighting out of Renton, Washington, strongly disagreed with a decision and said he would face Colbert in the rematch. The latter, meanwhile, said he felt victorious and that he had “out boxed” his opponent, and also agreed to the rematch.


‘He got the knockdown but it’s a 10-round fight’

“Listen, I love the fans,” said Colbert. “If he wants a rematch, then let’s get it. I’m no sucka.”

“It was a hell of a fight. At the end of the day, I’m not the judge and I’m not a sore loser. I’m a man. I can take it on the chin like a man. He’s a sore loser. I out-boxed him and hit him with more jabs. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a man and he had his spurts. He hit me with some good shots but then he stopped and I jabbed and I jabbed and I jabbed. He got the knockdown but it’s a 10-round fight.”


‘Definitely I’d like a rematch’

“I beat him,” said Valenzuela. “I want to thank everyone who came out here to support me. I thought I won. I was hitting him with the harder shots. I dropped him. I dominated. But it is what it is.”


“He over-extended and I caught him with a left hook (on the knockdown). He didn’t hurt me once in this fight. I was having fun. I enjoyed every minute of it. I won. I was having fun. I wanted to show the world what I could do. I can box and I can bang.”


“I felt like I put it on him. Definitely I’d like a rematch. I have to be fair and square. I went through a lot. I worked hard. It was tough and to come out like this – it sucks.”

In Australia, the event aired live on Kayo on Sunday, March 26.


Get Benavidez vs Plant full fight card results.


Comments


bottom of page