top of page

Amanda Serrano is Pumped To Have a War With Erika Cruz at MSG

By BoxingScene Staff

December 30, 2022

Source: Boxing Scene

Photo Source: Boxing Scene

Amanda "The Real Deal" Serrano, current unified 126-pound champion, will face the Mexico's Erika Cruz, champion of the World Boxing Association (WBA), on February 4, 2023. For Serrano (43-2-1, 30 KO) it will represent another step towards achieving her goal of unifying the entire weight class. The Puerto Rican fighter will risk the featherweight belts of the World Boxing Organization, International Boxing Federation, World Boxing Council, and International Boxing Organization against Cruz (15-1, 3 KOs), who will defend for the third time the WBA belt.

The fight will be streamed by DAZN.

“Puerto Rico against Mexico is always exciting, but now it is for all the titles and in the mecca of boxing. These are the best ingredients to guarantee the people a war and the best of us in the ring. I can't wait to relive this great rivalry. I have been ready for a long time and I am crazy to see my people from Puerto Rico, Mexico and the rest of the world enjoy the fight to the fullest. I invite you to come support me as a family, we will make history together," Serrano said. “My goal in boxing has always been to give Puerto Rico what no man or woman has achieved. There is no rest to reach the goals and with what I have already given to my people, I still have more to go. Together with my sister Cindy, we were the first to win world titles in 2016. I could also be the first Latina to win $1 million in a fight, be a star at Madison Square Garden and be the boxer with the most titles won in a division."

Serrano last saw action back in September, when she defeated Sarah Mahfoud by unanimous decision to win the IBF featherweight title.

Cruz won the WBA belt in April 2021 when she defeated former two-division world champion Jelena Mrdjenovich of Canada by technical decision in New York.




Comentarii


bottom of page